Skip to Content

Press Releases

Rep. Norman Proposes Constitutional Amendment to Require Term Limits in Congress

Washington, D.C., January 26, 2021 | Austin Livingston (803-833-0030)

Recently, Rep. Ralph Norman (R-SC), along with 44 co-sponsors, introduced H.J. Res. 12, which proposes an amendment to the U.S. Constitution to limit the number of terms someone may serve in Congress.

This amendment, if ratified, would limit those serving in the House of Representatives to three (3) terms, and those serving in the Senate to two (2) terms. For both chambers, this proposed amendment defines the length of a qualifying term should someone be chosen during a special election to fill a vacancy. It also starts the term limit counter after ratification, such that terms which began prior to that date would not be taken into consideration.

On Monday, Sen. Ted Cruz (R-TX) proposed the same constitutional amendment in the U.S. Senate.

Rep. Norman issued the following statement on Tuesday:

"Serving in the House or Senate should be a temporary privilege, not a career choice. With the allure of Washington, it becomes easy over time to lose sight of your constituents back at home. That's why a constitutional amendment is needed to term limit those who serve. I want to thank Sen. Ted Cruz for leading this effort in the Senate, as well as the 44 others in the House for co-sponsoring this important resolution."

Original co-sponsors of this resolution in the House include Representatives Rick Allen (R-GA-12), Don Bacon (R-NE-2), Andy Biggs (R-AZ-5), Dan Bishop (R-NC-9), Mo Brooks (R-AL-5), Ken Buck (R-CO-4), Ted Budd (R-NC-13), Tim Burchett (R-TN-2), Kat Cammack (R-FL-3), Warren Davidson (R-OH-8), Byron Donalds (R-FL-19), Jeff Duncan (R-SC-3), C. Scott Franklin (R-FL-15), Russ Fulcher (R-ID-1), Matt Gaetz (R-FL-1), Andrew Garbarino (R-NY-2), Bob Good (R-VA-5), Lance Gooden (R-TX-5), Marjorie Taylor Greene (R-GA-14), Diana Harshbarger (R-TN-1), Kevin Hern (R-OK-1), Yvette Herrell (R-NM-2), Richard Hudson (R-NC-8), Ronny Jackson (R-TX-13), Mike Johnson (R-LA-4), John Joyce (R-PA-13), Fred Keller (R-PA-12), Darin LaHood (R-IL-18), Jake LaTurner (R-KS-2), Debbie Lesko (R-AZ-8), Nancy Mace (R-SC-1), Tracey Mann (R-KS-1), Thomas Massie (R-KY-4), Barry Moore (R-AL-2), Gregory Murphy (R-NC-3), Scott Perry (R-PA-10), Guy Reschenthaler (R-PA-14), Matthew M. Rosendale Sr (R-MT-At Large), David Schweikert (R-AZ-6), W. Gregory Steube (R-FL-17), Thomas Tiffany (R-WI-7), Ann Wagner (R-MO-2), Ron Wright (R-TX-6), and Lee Zeldin (R-NY-1).

Senators Mike Braun (R-IN), Pat Toomey (R-PA), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Todd Young (R-IN), and Rick Scott (R-FL) joined Senator Cruz in co-sponsoring this resolution in the Senate.

Click here for the full text of this resolution, H. J. Res. 12.


Media inquiries for Rep. Norman should be directed to Austin Livingston at 803-833-0030.